On a sunny weekend during February 2020, BrunyIsland.au was privileged to be able to offer one of our nature sanctuaries complimentarily to assist in the facilitation of Tasmania's first 'Younger Heroes' program; a fabulous non for profit, registered charity.
In late 2013, BrunyIsland.au undertook a massive and rather unique weed eradication project. Our aim was to control the radiata pine infestation which was threatening to overrun the native bushland at our 900 acre 'Bruny Island Lodge' property on South Bruny.
BBC Travel visits Bruny Island to view the Southern Lights.
Yes, it really was a night to remember!
This video shows how CAD technology is being used for the restoration of Te Rapunga.
This video shows the journey of the Te Rapunga from a back yard in Auckland, New Zealand to the Denman Marine restoration yard in Hobart, Tasmania.
In 1930 a small wooden boat set sail for unknown adventures. This might not in itself be remarkable; however, this was a journey that was eventually to lead from Kiel in Germany to Bruny Island, Tasmania.
Cape Bruny Light keepers have been doing battle with nature since 1838. Tending the light to ensure that maritime travellers did not meet the same grisly end as so many before them had done, it was an arduous and unrelenting life.
Cloudy Bay was initially named l’baie Mauvaise by French explorer Bruni D'Entrecasteaux in 1792, after 1822 it was marked on the maps of the time as Bad Bay, and after 1859 became known as Bad or Cloudy Bay.